Celebrating Forty Years of Dedication and a Call for Action (Media Advisory)

Who: The Florida Commission on Human Relations (see below for a partial list of confirmed speakers/participants including public officials/VIPs)

What: 40th Anniversary Kick-off Press Conference:

Join FCHR Commissioners, Confirmed Speaker Governor Crist, state and local elected officials and community groups to kick off the Commission’s 40th anniversary celebration and to call for the participation of public officials, community leaders and the public in ensuring that fair treatment and equal opportunity remain on the forefront!

When: January 14, 2009

10:30 a.m.

Where: The Capitol Rotunda (plaza level-new Capitol)

400 South Monroe Street

Tallahassee, FL

The Florida Commission on Human Relations, established in 1969, is the state agency charged with enforcing the Florida Civil Rights Act and Fair Housing Act. The purpose of these laws is to protect the people of Florida from discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, disability, marital status or familial status. Fair treatment, equal access and mutual respect are the benchmarks of the Commission’s commitment. Through education, outreach and partnerships, the Commission works to prevent discrimination and foster mutual understanding in communities statewide.

For more information visit http://fchr.state.fl.us

Governor Crist (confirmed speaker)

Representative Thompson (confirmed speaker)

Senator Joyner (confirmed speaker)

Mayor Marks (confirmed speaker)

Representative Garcia (confirmed participant)

Representative Hukill (confirmed participant)

Representative Bullard (confirmed participant)

Mr. T .K. Wetherell – President of FSU (confirmed participant)

Leon County Commissioner Bob Rackleff (confirmed participant)

Leon County Commissioner Bryan Desloge (confirmed participant)

Secretary Linda South – Department of Management Services (DMS) (confirmed participant)

Chief Judge Robert Cohen – Division of Administrative Hearings (DOAH) (confirmed participant)

Secretary Frank Peterman –Florida Department of Juvenile Justice (confirmed participant)

PERC –Chair Ms. Stephanie Williams Ray (confirmed participant)